2 Weeks Old

It seems like a long time has passed but it has only been 2 weeks since baby Calvin was born. He’s still in the Special Care Nursery and will be there for at least another 2 weeks though probably longer. KKH’s policy is that they will discharge their preemie patients when (1) they hit 35 weeks gestation,  (2) they are 2kg in weight and (3) is able to be bottle fed completely.

Calvin on 5th Dec 09

Calvin was born 1.63kg. After birth, he lost about 100g or 6% of his weight  which is normal for both full term and pre-term babies. Right now, his weight is about 1.71kg so unless he’s going to have a growth spurt, he’ll most likely be home after another 3 weeks. So far, He did not exhibit any of the common preterm symptoms like apnea (stop breathing temporarily), ROP (poor development of the retina),  chronic lung disease etc and hopefully will continue to be free of the common problems that plague preemies. So far, he seems to be doing fine. My only gripe is that he’s not growing fast enough for me to being him home sooner! They recently introduced the bottle to him. He was sucking quite well on it though he gets tired from the exertion.

As for me, I recovered rapidly from childbirth (read about Calvin’s birth story here) and was discharged from the hospital after 2 days. Thereafter, my main duty is to provide milk for Calvin. It was really tiring initially, I was spending about 8 hours every day pumping, including in the middle of the night. It was pretty much a 8 hour work day everyday except there is no concept of weekends to look forward to. So 8 hours of work, 7 hours of sleep, 2 hrs to go visit Calvin and the remaining 7 hours for eating, washing and sterilizing, random daily ablutions etc. I felt like I was in some military camp, following a strict schedule of work, sleep and little time for myself. After 2 weeks, I’ve adjusted to this life after 2 weeks though I’m still a slave to the 2hr pumping schedule. I can imagine that if baby was at home with me, I’d probably be exhausted and stressed out. On the bright side of things, because baby Calvin is at the hospital, I actually got some reprieve to recover and get adjusted to the new life style without having a demanding baby around.

It looks like our lives from now on will revolve around little baby Calvin but I’m actually really looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

