Hungry

Ever since I gave birth, my appetite has been ravenous. Ironically, I’m eating much more than when I was pregnant. Perhaps again, it is because the food is cooked in a way that I enjoy — light and with little oil. The people is this household seem to enjoy everything deep fried. Even those who have a history of high cholesterol. Every meal time, the oily fumes will permeate the house and as I was extra sensitive to the smell during my pregnancy, it meant I didn’t have much appetite left by dinner time. It also didn’t help that the insensitive people would cook food that I am unable to eat such as a whole meal of crab despite me saying repeatedly that I can’t take any seafood. The same people would later lament that I’m very picky with my food. Gee, I wonder why. Anyway, enough of my griping.

As I was saying, I seem to be eating a whole lot more. Apart from the food being more palatable, the extra energy spent in producing breast milk probably have something to do with it as well.  Even then, I can’t help but feel I’m eating too much. It doesn’t help that firstly, the meat that we buy in the market doesn’t come in smaller portions and secondly, the maid seems to feel that if there’s food in the fridge, she has to cook them all.

Here’s a sample of what I eat during a typical day.

1. Breakfast:

  • One bowl of milk with oatmeal
  • Two slices whole meal bread with peanut butter and jelly

2. Lunch:

  • Rice (Small qty)
  • Fish/meat (2+ serving)
  • Vegetable (1 serving)

3. Dinner:

  • Rice
  • Herbal Soup + Chicken thigh/drumstick in the soup
  • More meat?!? (2 servings)
  • Vegetable (1 serving)

So much for a balanced diet… I’ve been trying to tell the maid to control the portions. Especially dinner when she habitually serves me 4 servings of meat. But I have a hard time getting the message through to her. I really look forward to having my own kitchen in the future. Sure, I’ll actually have to do the cooking myself but at least the portions come out the way I want. Plus I can cook in peace without someone perpetually breathing down my neck and “supervising” what I do.

2 Responses to “Hungry”

  1. e* Says:

    that’s not a lot of food…!
    but glad you’re having food you like anyway!
    x

    • miucat Says:

      It sure feels like a lot when I was eating it. It’s like the food will pile up on my 10 inch plate and then there’s *still* more food left.

Leave a Reply

