Week 3

Baby Calvin is growing much faster than we had dared hoped for. After 2 days of no weight gain at all, he suddenly put on about 200g in the last 3 days. As of this afternoon, his weight is 2.01 kg and has passed the 2 kg weight target! He grows in such spurts that I wonder if it’s a measurement error on the 2 days where he registered no weight gain at all. He’ll still have to wait at least another week to hit the 35th gestation week but it looks like he will definitely be coming home end of next week!

Meanwhile, the nurses in KK have been introducing him to bottle feeding. Previously, he was tube fed which is a tube that is inserted through the mouth or nose and leads directly into his stomach. At the beginning, he was rather slow at feeding from the bottle. Perhaps it was partly due to the tube that was strapped to his mouth, preventing his tongue from closing properly on the bottle. He would bottle for about half his feed before tiring out completely and the rest would be fed through the tube. After they shifted his tube from the mouth to the nose, he improved greatly and was finally able to finish most of his meals from the bottle.

So today, they finally removed his tube completely so looks all normal again! I’m starting to worry a little about taking care of him by myself at home. We have a maid, but I really won’t trust Calvin to anyone. But all I need to do should be feed, bathe and change his diapers right? How hard can that be? It might take the whole day and I’d be completely exhausted but it doesn’t sound like something I can’t cope with.

I tried latching Calvin directly today at the hospital with a little success. I’m hoping he will be able to continue feeding directly. Bonding aside, I’m thinking more of  saving myself some time an energy. Otherwise, I’d have to first express the breastmilk, transfer it to a bottle, then bottlefeed him and have to clean and sterilize bottles and the pump all the time. Much better prospect if he can go right to the production line and cut out the middle man. I’ll keep my fingers crossed and keep trying. If nothing else, I guess I can always be his human pacifier…

Leave a Reply

