Week 12: Same old, same old

Sleeping through the night …. NOT

Recently, he has settled into a somewhat more predictable routine. Unfortunately, this routine still involves him waking up every 3 hours even at night. For a few days last week, he actually slept for 4 hours straight and we thought we struck gold! He quickly assured us that that was a mere fluke the next couple of days. Oh how I wish he could start sleeping longer through the night soon.

There is still the problem though of me needing to pump every 3- 3.5 hours. I’ve tried dragging the timing to 4 hours but almost always get struck with blocked ducts instead (and with it, the pain and drop in supply =( Oh how I hate blocked ducts).  So even if he sleeps through, I’d still have to wake up twice to pump anyway. I’m slowly trying to reduce my pumping time in the wee hours now hopefully ease off the overnight supply enough that I only need to pump once.

9 Feb: Hand over the Cuddles!

Social Smile

It seems that his eyes can focus better now. Instead of staring blankly into space, he now scrutinizes us int

ensely when we carry him. I wonder if he recalls how his mama looks like 🙂 He’s also been giving lots of sweet social smiles when we are carrying him and he’s in a good mood. Definitely charmed all of us in the household, in-laws included. This is probably just his ploy to get more cuddles!

Pacifier

As you know, we introduced the pacifier to him and had a lot more peace since then. I think many parents are reluctant to do it because of the possibility of nipple confusion. In my case, he’s not confused at all since he rejects my breasts outright, even for comfort sucking =[ I’ve read through the literature and it’s actually alright for bottle feeding babies to be given pacifiers to satisfy their need to suckle for comfort. Because otherwise, he will likely continue to suck on the teat even when he’s no longer hungry, and we’d think he’s hungry and give him more milk, resulting in obesity. Aunty Janet and aunty Huiling already commented that he has no neck, so he better not go too far in that direction! He already has quite a lot of those michellin man folds.

Haven’t weighed him recently since our weighing machine is too inaccurate but I’m guessing he’s about 5 kg now. Will probably be bringing him for his pneumoccocal jab end of this month, so we’ll see how he fared.

6 Feb: Me and my turtle. We look da same!

Leave a Reply

