Spending on Kids

Somehow now that we have a kid, I’m not excited to spend money on myself at all. Not that I was ever a spendthrift in the first place, but I have absolutely no interest in shopping, unless it’s at the kids department….At least last time, I would still go scour the sales for some interesting good buys. Gee, is this the beginning of the slippery slope of auntydom for me? Maybe it’s the reality of being a stay at home mum until the end of the year, not only would I not need any new clothes or shoes, I’m not earning an income anymore.

Now that we’ll be staying in Singapore at least for a while. I don’t have to put off those big ticket purchases anymore. So I’ll probably finally hunt for a stroller though I’m not sure how useful it will be. We’re quite happy with the ergo carrier so far but it’s a little difficult to eat with a baby at your chest. We certainly don’t want crumbs or hot soup dripping on him as we eat! I’m hoping a stroller will let us at least sit down and eat? Maybe I hoping for too much. He’ll probably just fuss and we’ll have to take turns carrying him around while the other person eats. Well, I’m eyeing the Maclaren Quest which is going for $199 at the taka fair but that’s ending on Sunday. We might have to rush down tomorrow to get it. Opps poor hubby, all tuckered out from NS and still have go run here and there with me.

Random picture of the Bumbo seat that I pinched

But I have to say I’m definitely very rational about my purchases, even for Calvin. Singaporeans always complain that it’s expensive to have a kid but I notice that so many parents buy all sorts of useless “wants” like this $50 bumbo seat.  The babies outgrow them very fast (~1-2 months?) esp if they have chubby thighs and frankly I don’t see a point in making them sit up when they are not ready. Merchants really know how to appeal to the parent’s “I want to give baby only the best” mentality. I’m so not spending $30-50 per outfit for a baby that will outgrow it in 3 months max. It’s probably a good thing that I have a baby boy as I wished instead of a girl, or she will definitely grow up looking like and perhaps acting like a boy 🙂

P.S: I’m finally getting the hang of dealing with his feeding problems. Now he eats exclusively in his rocker or lying down in his cot/ the sofa. I’ve also changed the teat to a faster flow and he seems ok with it. That’ll save us both some grief and at least he’s drinking a bit more now though he’s still a curious bear and prefers looking around to drinking milk.

Leave a Reply

