Teething?

Oops, looks like I’ve been neglecting my blog for a while. I keep starting posts and not finishing them.

My little bub is always showing us new and delightful (and also horrific) things every day. He’s been laughing and chuckling delightfully, especially when he play peek-a-boo with him or tickle him or hold him up and swing him about.

Recently he’s been drooling lots and is happily chomping his hands and many things that he can fit into his mouth.  And that sometimes includes my fingers if he’s holding on to it. He’ll use his little tongue and lick me. Haha, it really tickles though it reminds me of our dog Oreo. I suspect that he might be beginning to teeth as he’s been having terrible sleep at the same time. He used to be able to sleep at least frm 9pm till 3/4 am but he has been waking up every hour making piteous little cries. The past few days were ok though, so I’m wondering if it’s him getting used to teething, or was it just too hot for him to sleep previously. He sweats profusely at night in his cot, especially his head. Sometimes, he kicks around so much that his whole pillow will be soaked. We’ll have to carry him for a while, not so much because he really needed cuddles but more to let him cool down a bit. We don’t really like to turn on the aircon though coz he seems to have a sensitive nose and will get all stuffy from the dry air conditioned air.

I’m turning 29 soon. I actually thought I was hitting the big 3 but looks like it’ll be another year. Not that it really matters, I mean it’s a fact that people grow old. There’s nothing you can do to stop it. When I think of the fact that by the time Calvin finishes primary school, I’d already be 40, and it just seems so old… and when he’s finally independent at 25, I’d be 50+. Gee… I wonder what I’ll be doing then.

Sometimes I wonder if I’m really an under-achiever, I’m just happy and contented to have my little family. Especially in the Singapore context, where climbing the corporate ladder means you’ll have to slog and work overtime most of the time. Somehow that just doesn’t seem worth it. I’d rather have a more balanced lifestyle and just be happy. It’s not like we really need lots of money anyway — for one, I’m a horrible shopper and a miser, just look at the pathetic amount of loot I came back with when I went to Japan 😛 All I want is a nice little place and sufficient to get by with some small luxuries. Which reminds me, I’m planning to go enjoy my favorite dim sum at Wah Lok over my birthday weekend. My mum is coming over to visit, so I’m counting on an extra pair of hands to let me enjoy my har gau in peace 🙂

Leave a Reply

