Introducing Solids

Last weekend, I finally bit the bullet and bought the Avent Combined Steamer and Blender. As the name suggests, this little beauty can steam the food and then subsequently puree it. I was initially thinking of buying a separate steamer and hand blender since that will have a longer useful life than this small baby food blender. To my dismay, I found that all the steamers in the market had plastic covers and there are no recycling labels on them so I suspect that most of them are not made of BPA free plastic (i.e Recycling number 1,2,4,5). BPA is a big deal as it’s supposed to have estrogenic properties — already sounds like a terrible thing for a baby boy to be subjected to — and has been shown to have adverse effects on animals. As BPA leeches out much more readily at high temperatures, the normal commercial steamers would be a major loophole in my grand plan. I was going to buy a rice cooker that could also be used to steam but those were too bulky, so in the end I settled for this specialty blender instead.

I only found out about this whole BPA free issue when I got pregnant but I’m a convert through and through. I’ve since changed all our drinking bottles to polypropene ones and tossed out all those mineral water bottles that was in the fridge. I’ve also been avoiding canned food when I can. I can’t stop the maid from cooking from canned food though since I don’t own the household. So far, Calvin has been drinking only from glass bottles. It’s a bit more expensive but I haven’t had a problem with it breaking *keep my fingers crossed* It would be quite silly of me to avoid plastic baby bottles only to introduce it to him via his solids.

So far, I’ve used my new gadget to make him papaya and sweet potato puree but it looks like he’s not really ready for texture yet. Yesterday, he gagged on some of the sweet potato and barfed up whatever milk was left in his tummy. Looks like no more sweet potato for him for a while. I happily finished up the rest of it as my afternoon snack. Maybe he’s just like his daddy — allergic to healthy food! He was fine with the cereal I’ve been giving him though so maybe I continue with that and slowly thicken it.

When it comes to his food, I’m starting to become a health nut. I’m already thinking of what I can cook for him next time so he will enjoy nutritious food. I guess me and J are not exactly the healthiest eaters. We definitely consume a fair amount of junk food. Now that there’s someone who will be looking up to us and picking up our habits, plus the fact that we will both hit the big 3 soon, I feel like we should look after our health. I guess the guilt from snacking lots everyday is getting to me. Planning to go for a health screening soon, most likely after I stop breastfeeding since I’ve heard that breastfeeding may increase cholesterol levels. I have a feeling it won’t be too great… … I really look forward to having my own place someday soon. It’s just different to cook in your ow kitchen. Definitely beats having scrutinizing eyes and hot breath down your neck.

Leave a Reply

