Random Update at 5am

Phew, after giving him lots of fluids, he seemed to have shaken off the cold after one day.

Peekaboo
We brought him to the playground at Kallang again. This time there were very few kids around, so we could safely put him down to crawl around without risking him getting trampled. Most of the time, he was still just chilling out and taking in the new environment. While I went off to Cold Storage to pick up some things, apparently a little girl came over and ‘flirted’ with him – touching her nose to his and giving him a hug (though it ended up as a head squeeze coz he was that much smaller than her). Apparently, he didn’t seem to have really minded. So either he was just totally stunned to speechlessness or his stranger anxiety doesn’t apply to kids (or at least little girls)

Cruising

He’s now a little amateur cruiser. He still has a bad habit of leaning his upper body over to wherever he wants to go before his feet will follow. So I hover around him anxiously, trying to catch him in case he falls and hits his head. This guy obviously knows no fear. The other day he tried to crawl off the bed without even hesitating when he reached the edge. He just continued crawling into space. His papa was right there to catch him of course. He’s still not quite skilled at pulling himself to stand though. Most of the time, he can probably just get on his knees.

Solids

Looks like he’s finally opening up to taking more solids. Now I can manage to feed him about 2/3 of a jar of baby food before he’s had enough. He seems to really enjoy the taste of beef stock. He’s one strange baby…well, whatever rocks his boat. As long as he’s eating, I’m happy. Yesterday, I tried to give him some rice grains from my finger while I was having lunch. To my surprise, he actually ate it and was keen to try more. He’s still fussy about the texture of food that I feed him though. Maybe it was because the rice was in very small quantities. Or maybe he just enjoyed being a big boy, eating from the same plate as his mummy. Looks like I have something else to occupy him while we have our meals. Whee!

Misc

It’s been a real joy taking care of him now that he’s more mobile. He’s a lot more contented though still quite clingy and needs lots of attention. At least it’s not as mind numbing and tiring as having to carry him around aimlessly.

I’ve been supplementing him with some formula milk recently even though my supply is still sufficient to satisfy his daily needs. I’m thinking of dragging the time between pumps again. Especially the one in the wee hours. When I start work, I’ll really need the extra hours of sleep since I can’t nap during the day. Currently, I’m still pumping 6 times daily so hopefully I can drop the middle of the night pump and eventually move on to 4 times when I start work. Not sure when I’ll totally quit my cow-ing career, guess I’ll just keep going until I can’t take it any more 🙂

One Response to “Random Update at 5am”

  1. e* Says:

    ooh… looks like calvin is going to be a real babe magnet and buaya! ;p
    when are you going back to work again?? i’ll be in s’pore for two days in december… 20-22.. will you be busy at work or will that be in the new year?

Leave a Reply

