Back to Work!

This is my 2nd week at work and I’m down with the flu! Not sure if it’s the bad airline house air, lack of sleep, stress or sicky germs from baby Calvin. Most likely all of the above. I had a sudden breakout of pimples all over my face as well. Something I haven’t seen for like a decade…

So far, I quite like the work that I’m doing. Chewing through data and spreading some excel magic always puts me in a good mood. Work days are really hectic though. Here’s a typical weekday schedule — which starts at *gasp* 5:45am. Also something I haven’t done since …. hmm…. never. Don’t think I’ve ever woken up at such an ungodly hour before this. I mean gee, there aren’t even any TV at this time back in the days before cable.

  • 5:45 – 6:45 am:  Wake up, express milk, eat breakfast, pack Calvin’s ‘lunchbox’ i.e his milk and solids
  • 6:45 – 7am:         Wash up the pump, pack my own bag
  • 7am – 7:30am:   Wake up hubby. Take care of Calvin while hubby gets ready for work.
  • 7:30am – 7:45am: Go downstairs, feed Calvin some breakfast, pack my cooler bag and leave. Hubby eats breakfast. Then we leave the house.
  • 7:45am – 8am: Drop Calvin off at daycare. Go take TM bus
  • 8am – 5:30pm: Work. In between, grab a quick lunch and run up do my motherly duties (i.e express milk)
  • 5:30pm – 6:30pm: On my way to pick up Calvin!
  • 6:40pm – 7:30pm: Quickly express with the manual pump to relieve engorgement, have dinner, feed Calvin
  • 7:30pm – 8:30pm: Go for a walk and play time with baby!
  • 8:30pm – 11pm:     Bathe, prepare Calvin’s lunch and milk for tomorrow, express before sleeping and any random chores.

I’m seriously considering stopping the moo moo business completely so I won’t have to lug my pump and cooler bag to work, I could get more time sleep and play with Calvin. On the other hand, it’s much better now that I’m only expressing mainly 3 times a day; it is more beneficial for him to consume BM; side benefit of saving milk powder money.  I’ll just go with the flow (pardon the pun :0])and see how it goes. I am ready to stop anytime since he is 14 months old now.

Leave a Reply

