15 Months Old

Life has been hectic and there’s very little me time as it is. And despite that, I still sometimes feel like there is more that I could do for my little Calvin that I’m not doing and it makes me feel like I’m a lousy mom. I guess part of that is because he seems to be lagging behind in the major milestones.

  • Flipping at 3 month CA
  • Sitting up w/o support at 5 month CA
  • Leopard crawling at 9 month CA, crawling on fours at 11 month
  • Pull to standing position at 10 month CA

His gross motor seems to be ok. His day care teacher was saying they were concerned that he wasn’t walking yet but I think he’s fine. I’m more worried about his social development.

What he isn’t doing yet that other kids do:

  • Wave goodbye
  • Say ‘mama’ and ‘papa’ to the correct parent
  • Pincer grasp (can’t believe after all those months of puff eating, still no pincer grasp!)
  • Walk
  • Point at things that interest him
  • Follow simple instructions

What he can do:

  • Play hide and seek. Mainly we hide and he seek
  • Put things into containers. So far it’s the tennis balls into its canister
  • Has temper tantrums when frustrated. Over the weekend, he threw a totally classic tantrum – flop backwards from sitting position (I was there to catch him), flailing his arms and kicking his legs. Pretty amusing to watch 🙂
  • Turns the pages of a book
  • Peek out through ‘holes’ in the book

 

His PD at KKH says he’s pretty on track in terms of milestones as of now when we voiced our concerns about those things that he’s unable to do now. I guess we’ll monitor and continue to encourage him to talk and interact with us. Recently he’s been a really chirpy and chatty baby so that kinda puts me at ease a little.

Leave a Reply

