What the Future Holds

When I seriously thought about it, it dawned on me how out of the ordinary it is for us to just up and decide to move to another country where he’ll study and I’m basically a homemaker with a young child, and limited options for part time work. It’s a big change in lifestyle and a lot of economic sacrifice. But it also opens up many more paths for our future rather than the staid Singapore story that we were slowly being corralled into. I’d rather have tried and failed than to live a mediocre life and being too afraid to stray from the well trodden path.

Right now, I feel very hopeful about our future and what it may bring. I feel like I did when I was 18 and wondering where I’ll be in the next 10 years (the answer to that was ‘In Singapore, paying back my bond and still just as unsure of where I’m heading’).  Of course, now that we have a little one to think about, I am conscious that the decisions we make affect his future too.

We are both very glad to have the opportunity to spend more time with him in the coming year. Even when I was younger and adamantly decided I didn’t really want kids, I always thought that if I ever do, I would want to be able to spend time educating him. If I wasn’t going to play a big part molding him and teaching him, what was the point of having a child at all? I’m certainly not keen to have other people, be they teachers or daycare part timers or maids, imprint their own values on him especially since I know I have principles I feel strongly about and a very different set of values and priorities compared to other people.

A lot of people seem to think I should continue to work when I’m overseas. I guess it’s somewhat a waste of good education to not be utilizing it (do I really make use of any of my education at work in the first place? Hmm……maybe only excel skills). On the bright side, I didn’t spend a single cent of my parents’ hard earned money on it since secondary school 😀 To be honest, I’m not exactly sure what I want to do next as well. So I’ll take this time as a sabbatical and gather my thoughts (if that can be done with a rambunctious toddler around).

Leave a Reply

