Ipad 2 & Random Thought

I placed an order for an IPad 2 last weekend. We decided that I’d probably need a portable device when I’m staying at home. It’ll probably be a lifesaver on our way to Charlottesville. I’m already trying to hunt down Chugginton episodes to keep him occupied. I’m not a big fan of entertaining kids with electronic devices but we’ll certainly need all the help we can get on that flight.

One of the things I miss is reading. I’ve read a lot more fantasy books in the past few years, straight out of Johnny’s repository, and little else. That would be one activity I’d like to pick up again, in part because it’s something I really enjoy and also to inculcate the good habit in little Calvin. I expect that I’d have to speak Chinese with him more often when we are overseas. I’ll need to think about how that is done. My Chinese was pretty good but after 10 years of speaking not more a small smattering of it when needed, I’m not sure I remember that much of it. Well, probably still enough to teach a young child. I’ve bought some Chinese books to bring with us to help me along as well but I think I’ll hold off teaching him Chinese until he can speak better in English. From the literature I’ve seen online, it seems that learning two languages at once will slow down his speech development (which doesn’t exactly surprise me….. if it’s not confusing enough to learn one language….) At any rate, we’re not looking to have him be a Chinese scholar. He just needs to learn enough to get by. After all, I learnt English when I was older as well and that didn’t really stop me from being good at it. There’s still so much to do before we go and I’m starting to get a little stressed that we don’t have that much time to do them.

Even though we’ve found an apartment we are happy with, the landlord still hasn’t sent us the lease to sign, which is rather disturbing because it’s been a while since we gave him our arrival details etc.

Leave a Reply

