Calvin the Recalcitrant

We are trying to incorporate a little more disciplining in the little boy’s life but so far it has been unsuccessful.

Attempt #1:
When he throws things on the floor, we would go ‘uh-oh’. In the hopes that he will learn that it is wrong.
Result: Now instead of merely throwing things on the floor, he throws them and says ‘uh oh’ repeatedly himself, with zero repentence involved.

Attempt #2:
He did something notty. Think it was either biting his daddy or trying to play with the fan. I gave him what I thought was a stern look and said ‘No no’.
Result: Calvin was highly amused and started giggling.

I can see a very challenging future ahead of me. He is starting to get willful too. He’ll insist on watching more TV or video clips on the ipad (‘More more’, says Calvin) and when we don’t relent, the little whine engine will roar to life.

On the other hand, we are inclined to indulge him in things that doesn’t really matter like if he wants to play with a spoon etc. He is just so adorable right now, we can’t help but give in for small things. I mean if he insists on being carried around, why no? It won’t be long till he wiggles out at any chance he gets and I’d probably miss these days when he enjoys being carried around.

Yesterday, he managed to fall asleep without either of us being in the bed with him. I was sitting on our real bed (sadly unutilized) playing with my ipad while he slept on the mattress on the floor. When I told him to go ‘jiao jiao’, he’ll lie on the pillow and toss and turn. Then he’ll get up and pick out a book for me to read. I relent of course. I’m happy that he loves books. After 1 book, I told him it’s time to ‘jiao jiao’ again. He returns to his pillow and tossing and turning before getting up again for another book. So this went on for about 7 books before he was finally worn out and fell asleep. I’m sure other kids could do this much earlier, but I was beaming with pride anyway.

Leave a Reply

