A Typical Day

So what do I actually do, you may ask, apart from diligently recording the utterances of my little boy genius and baking cookies? Usually morning starts with Calvin waking up at around 7am, demanding milk. After feeding him, he usually goes back to sleep. Meanwhile, having been disturbed from my reverie, my day starts. I either sit at the computer surfing today’s grocery/ baby deals or prepares breakfast for the two sleeping babies, until they wake up around 8am. Then it’s mostly time spent entertaining the little warlord until around 11am when I prepare our lunch. I’ll feed Calvin his share or a special meal just for him like say cheesy chicken sandwich. Around 12 pm, Calvin will take his nap. If Johnny has classes that day, we’ll take a 10 min walk out with him to campus with the stroller and then back.

For the first hour of his nap, I read more stuff online and start to organize my grocery list for the week, depending on what’s on sale. Or I look for more recipes that I’d like to try my hand on. Then I’ll join him in the bedroom and read or nap for a while. In case he wakes up, he feels more reassured that I’m just sitting right there.

After his nap, usually about 2 hrs, we go downstairs and I’ll prepare a fruit snack for him. For the days when Johnny has a few classes, I’ll bring Calvin out to the downtown library for him to caper around and borrow more books, then drop by CVS and let him play with the random merchandise. The whole trip including the half hour bus ride each to and fro, takes about 2 to 2.5 hours, by which time J will be home and it’s daddy time while I cook dinner.

We share our dinner with the little guy and then go out for a walk. Recently, we discovered that we can actually walk to one of the playgrounds at the family housing – about 15 mins walk each way. (The mosquitoes there are vicious but dumb. They bite really hard but fly really slow as well) when we get home, it’s time to get the little one ready to sleep. that’s usually around 8:30. While J bores him to sleep, I load the dishes into the dishwasher and wash up whatever else that doesn’t take kindly to being washed by the wonder machine. Night time is also when I do random things like vacuum the floor, do the laundry, pick up the toys, do some meal prep (take food out to defrost for tomorrow’s meal or marinate the meat overnight etc, plan the week’s meals), clip coupons, finalize the grocery list (because we rent a car for groceries, I use a list so we can finish shopping faster and save on the rental charge which is hourly), take a bath. Usually, there’s still some time for my own personal pleasures such as reading manga or going through yet more recipes in search for more jackpot recipes to add to my repertoire.

It’s a fairly busy day but I feel rather pleased that I am able to deal with the household work and help to support my little family. I’m also very happy with the food I’ve been turning out recently – especially those heavenly oatmeal cookies which is definitely expanding my waistline….

Leave a Reply

