Back on the Run

I’ll start by saying that I used to hate running. All those times we had to attend Physical Ed and run laps were seriously painful. I’ve always thought the last thing i’d ever do is run. So I surprise even myself by taking up running after more than 10 years of avoiding it. Of course the little belly I’m starting to grow is a big motivation to get myself going. Seriously, now that I’m in charge of all the cooking, I can’t help but make food that I like and end up eating a good portion more than I should. All those desserts I’ve been learning to make certainly isn’t helping. Being in the big 3 doesn’t help as well. The cold weather is encouraging my body to send me the ‘eat, eat, eat’ signals as well.

So with the odds against me, I decided that I desperately need to exercise. The first time I ran, the cold air was a nice fresh change to the heat and dampness i was accustomed to. It was still a tough start but I managed about 10 mins with minimal walking. It seems like I was so bothered by the hot sweaty feeling when I ran in singapore that I feel tired much faster then. And so here I am, on my second week of running around the campus every alternate day. I’m feeling rather proud of myself for keeping up with it. I can feel my stamina building up already. Hopefully, with a more deliberate portion control, I’ll keep the dreaded fatty tissues from accumulating. At any rate, the running will definitely be good for my overall health.

2 Responses to “Back on the Run”

  1. s* Says:

    eeps… isn’t it too cold to run now? brrr…

    • miucat Says:

      Hmm about 0 c most nights when I run. But I seriously think I run better in the cold. If it gets any colder I thin I might have to rethink my plans though…

Leave a Reply

