His own person

Calvin understands so much and talks so well that sometimes I forget that he is not even 3 yet. He’s a real cheeky monkey though, he likes to deliberately use the wrong words so we’ll correct him. Or even better when I heard him wrongly, he takes great pleasure in telling me, in the same tone, ‘Not brushes, bushes. Mama thought it was brushes’. He’s such a cute inquisitive boy now, I can’t help but smile at his antics like the way he peers at every new thing, or lie on the ground playing with his cars and trucks.

Yesterday night, when I was putting him to sleep. He starting turning the ladybug nightlight on and off, on and off, on and off. And then he said, the lights are blinking. Then he started moving the ladybug slowly and suddenly flip it upside down. And after at, he started kicking his legs in the air to look at his shadows on the wall. It’s just so funny to see him experimenting with what he can do and what happens when he does something.

On the other hand, he’s also getting more willful and will deliberately do things that we explicitly told him not to, like pouring water out of the bath tub onto the floor. I ended up having to scold him for it which makes me feel bad after.

He’s also a big fuss pot when it comes to bed time, he keeps asking us to scratch him from his neck, to chest, back, tummy, leg……yesterday, I spent almost 4 hours just scratching/ wiping him him until I got totally fed up and ignored him. So much for sleeping early, I ended up not getting much sleep at all.

I do wish he would spend more time playing by himself though. Most of the time, either me or Johnny will be with him playing some games but I do wish I could get some things done and not have to spend the little personal time I have cleaning up, cutting up chicken or some other mundane task. Hopefully he’ll grow out of it…

Leave a Reply

