School

It’s been 2 weeks since he started school and I’ve also went to co-op once last week. It’s been rather hectic because I’ve been staying with him for most of the day at school so I’ve actually had to plan around his school days like preparing meals beforehand. He seems to be adjusting well to the routine at school. In fact, he’s starting to assert his independence. Occasionally, he will tell us that ‘I don’t need to hold hands/ be carried because I’m a big boy’ or ‘I can do it meself’. He’s also becoming more helpful with cleaning up his toys at home too when I call him over.

He still doesn’t play with the other children much in school but his teachers have said that he’s good at expressing himself so that’s a relief. Although one of his classmates thought he was a baby and remarked ‘I didn’t know babies can talk’. Then again maybe Angmo children just aren’t accustomed to how small Asian kids are. Admittedly my little Calvin still has a cute chubby baby face that I love to pinch. After being in school, he has learnt how to make friends. Today at the playground, he said to another kid ‘Hi, my name is Calvin’. Normally, he would just run away and hide behind us or pull us away to somewhere else where he doesn’t have to interact.

He’s becoming really cheeky though. At the end of the day, they have music time but he’s already all tuckered out. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m there but he’ll refuse to participate and say things like “I don’t want to spin because I might fall down’ ‘I don’t want to jump because I might get stuck’ ‘I don’t want to wave because I might get trapped’ and he’ll keep coming up with all these excuses as the teacher tells the children to do different things. -_-;

His favorite activity in school is painting at the easel. Maybe because he has never used actual paint/ paintbrushes or an easel before. So we get all these great paintings of colored lines done by him. Maybe I’ll end up like those parents who keep big fat boxes of old art and craft stuff from their kids.

Well, next week onwards, we’ll probably have him stay the full time at school by himself, so we can finally regain some time for ourselves. Oh yeah and today we went to Target and got him a Cars backpack because he’s been telling me that he doesn’t have one. Not that it will ever carry anything inside but whatever makes him happy I guess… And this little guy was overjoyed when we showed him the Cars movie. Granted, he has no idea what is going on 90% of the time and spends most of the time asking me.What are they doing? Etc…..but I figured it might give him something to talk about with the other kids if they watch the same things….aww I’m just a big softie.

P.S: He quickly lost interest in the Cars movie the next day which somewhat surprised me. No big deal though since I don’t relish going through the movie explaining everything several times….

Leave a Reply

