Calvin’s Birthday

We celebrated his third birthday today. Well, technically it’s not his birthday yet but since they celebrated for him in school, we decided to make it less complicated for him and treated today as his birthday. I had to coop at his school today so by the time I got home, he was already having his nap.

I baked the cake over the weekend, so all I had to do was cut up the strawberries to decorate a strawberry cake like the one in his little bear book. I already made him a party hat with lots of car pictures on it a while back when I wrapped up his presents. In the end, we settled for a dinosaur puzzle that we got on clearance during summer, 3 small hot wheels cars and a police helmet with a visor. Then it was time to blow up the balloons. We got those long twisty balloons since I thought they would be more interesting. I tried to blow it with my mouth but it was practically impossible. Good thing we have a ball pump. And finally I managed to make three balloons – one into a sword, one into a hat and one in the classic dog/ giraffe (the neck was too long…). Just as I finished the giraffe one, the little guy woke up because all that twisting was making the balloon squeak noisily.

We got him downstairs and lighted candles on his cake. Unfortunately, he doesn’t know quite how to blow them out yet. He makes a ‘ffffff fffff’ sound when he’s blowing, so he had some secret help. We thought he would be delighted with the visor but seems like the three little cars were the more popular choice. As I type, he’s hugging his little cars in bed and sleeping soundly.

Leave a Reply

