Me Time

Now that I spend more than 80% of my time together with Calvin and given the fact that Calvin demands my attention whenever he’s awake, I find myself in desperate need of some quality me time.

A typical non-school day looks like this:

  • 6 am:  Wake up, wash up, put away the dishes, prepare breakfast, water plants + a little cleaning up
  • 7 am: Calvin wakes up. Prepare and feed him breakfast. Play with him
  • 8:30 am: Papa wakes up. Continues playing while papa eats breakfast
  • 9:30 am: Clean up dishes and take a little break.
  • 10 am: Go to library or out for a walk or grocery shopping
  • 10:30/ 11 am: Snack time. Start preparing lunch.
  • 12 pm: lunch
  • 1 pm: Clean up dishes. Play with Calvin, read, get ready for nap
  • 1:30 pm: Calvin naps. Dinner preparations and chill out time
  • 2:30 pm: I lie down next to Calvin for a rest
  • 3pm/ 4 pm: Calvin wakes up. Snack time then play
  • 5 pm: Cook dinner
  • 6 pm: dinner time
  • 6:45 pm: Clean up and then out to the park or for a walk.
  • 7:30 pm: Snack time. Play time
  • 8:30 pm: Get ready for bed. Papa reads to Calvin.
  • 9:30 pm: Lights off. Chit chat with Calvin and then sleep.

While I greatly cherish the time I spend with him, I can’t help but feel that there is too little time for myself – to plan, to relax or to pursue my own interests. Maybe it’s because I’m an introvert but this routine kinda wears me out especially when I stress about cooking meals for the family (and hopefully food that he would eat. Seeing him not eat a balanced meal irritates me. Actually it’s probably the lack of me-time is making me irritable…) Good thing that J can sense my desperate need for time out and took Calvin out to the park without me. Calvin was all intent on getting me there too but we managed to persuade him that I need time for myself. In fact, as I sit here typing and reading, I feel a little better already.

Leave a Reply

