I turn 32

I’m not sure if I feel as old as that but I certainly don’t young anymore. Not when there is white hair creeping out from under the rest of my blacks.

Today, in a lapse of indulgence, I decided to bake myself a chocolate cake. But being the hippy health conscious cook that I am, I decided to give the black bean version another go. Yes, it’s a cake made without flour but black beans in its place. It turned out surprisingly fluffy and rich even though it looks ugly – the center collapsed as all my cakes tend to do >.< and it was rather crumbly and some parts were not mixed well so I could even taste the acrid baking soda taste. (I blame this on 1. My laziness because I wanted everything mixed in my blender to minimize washing and 2. My teeny tiny blender that just couldn’t handle all the ingredients.)

This was the recipe

1/2 cup sugar
1.5 cup black beans or 1 canned, drained and rinsed
3 eggs
3 heaped tablespoons of cocoa powder
1 teaspoon of instant coffee
vanilla extract
1 teaspoon of baking powder
juice & zest from half an orange
pinch of salt
1/2 cup baking chocolate

Mix everything in a blender except chocolate chunks. Bake at 350 F for about 35 minutes. (Mine took another 10 mins and still didn’t pass the toothpick test…. that might explain why it collapsed?)

With all the chocolate and sugar added, I’m sure it’s still as sinful as ever. Hey at least there wasn’t more oil or butter in there. What’s more I used up that bag of black beans that I had defrosted and couldn’t decide on how to use it up before we go on vacation. :p

Leave a Reply

