Calvin, the little Champ

Calvin woke up in the middle of the night yesterday. I thought he just wanted a hug. He told me, “Mama, I have a fever. I need to eat medicine”. True enough, he was running a hot fever. I ran out to grab some fever medicine from my box of random drugstore stuff and we started wiping him with handkerchiefs.

This morning, he woke up all energetic and ready to go though he felt a little feverish. I was wondering if I should stop his potty training then Johnny said we should so we took off his night diaper. He went to the potty and dutifully pee-ed into it. To think that one week ago, I had to cajole him to even get him to the bathroom. He seems to be very proud of his own achievements too. He’ll tell me “Mama, I’m very good. I told you first before I pee pee”. Then we went down for breakfast and while I was making his omelet, he declared that he has a poopy feeling and so off he went together with his papa. Later though, he seemed to be having soft stools. While he stood and played, some residual fecal matter fell out. I was worried that he has diarrhea but decided to wait and see. Out came my handy dandy carpet cleaner. It all went relatively well. We even went out to a yard sale and scored some new toys for a couple of bucks and then drop by at the park for a while.

After we came home, he didn’t seem to have much appetite during lunch but he was excited to play with his new toys. He successfully went to the potty another time before nap. We still put him in a diaper for nap time just in case. He tossed and turned and couldn’t fall asleep for the longest time. Finally, he called me. When I opened the door, he told me he had a poopy feeling, so I quickly got him to the potty and he was mercifully clean. He held it all in until he could sit on his potty seat and then proceeded to let loose some really watery stools and flatulent gasses. I was very proud that he managed to use the potty even when he’s sick. His tummy was not so bloated anymore though he is still running a fever. He didn’t want anymore medicine though probably because it doesn’t taste too good. Well, as long as he doesn’t feel too poorly and he’s not burning up, no reason to give him a fever reducer anyway since it’s just the body’s mechanism to help kill off the germs. Hopefully he’ll get better soon. I’m very happy that his potty training is going along well even though he’s sick.

Calvin 1305 (2)

Leave a Reply

