Hiking

This week we get to enjoy uncharacteristically warm winter weather. Yesterday, me and Calvin went on a hike on the Rivhttps://wordpress.com/post/10787344/newanna Trail on a whim. The trail starts from the parking lot of the law school and follows the Rivanna River. We ended up walking for more than an hour without rest and I’m surprised that Calvin posted no complaints. Maybe all the outdoor activity and running about the past month has improved his stamina.

Ever since I found out I ran slower than others in kindergarten, I wonder if I’ve harbored the thought that I am naturally not athletic because my parents are not. I still loved running about with the boys in primary school though. Now that I think about it, maybe it was because we rarely play outside since we live in a suburban area with mainly houses and roads. Sometimes, maybe we are too quick to attribute our weaknesses to lack of talent than lack of practice.

I am glad that we moved to our new apartment. It is so easy to go out and enjoy the outdoors. The place is well maintained. The playground is right outside, there is a hiking trail within walking distance, there is a little stream for the kids to play in, I can walk to the grocery store or take a bus to pick Calvin up from school.

Leave a Reply

