Summer Plan 1: Intensive Chinese !!!

Summer has officially started, but I am obviously still dragging my feet. Not getting enough sleep is definitely affecting my energy levels during the day. But it’s time to stop slacking off and get into the swing of things. First up on my to do is to get Calvin to learn into the habit of learning Chinese. Initially, I had grand plans of working on his reading and writing but he was not enthusiastic about any of those things. It’s hard to get him motivated about all of them at once so I’ll leave the English and writing to his teachers in kindergarten and work on Chinese first.

My mum was telling me about how she had to lure me with treats when I was young to get me motivated to complete the homework from my extra lessons and to learn to write my name in kindergarten. All of which I have no memory of! In my mind, I was perfectly happy to complete all my work though I did remember getting McDs every weekend whenever I had those classes…. I also remember that I learnt to write my Chinese name only when I had to in kindergarten. Though I do feel that I should not bribe him with rewards to learn, I guess I would be surprised to find any kid who enjoys the mundane task of practicing writing. Especially the Chinese kind that makes you write whole pages of the same words over and over and over….

So here I am, once again planning out Chinese lessons. I need to find a way to make learning more interesting >_< It is indeed a lot of effort for one kid instead of a whole bevy of them. Maybe I need to make this feel more rewarding for me too. Or maybe it’s like a positive feedback loop i.e. I put in effort to make it fun, Calvin enjoys the learning process, I feel rewarded and decide to put in effort.

I whipped out my 四五快读 book again and this time, I’ll implement the revision games rather than do the boring flash card methods. I’ve listed a bunch of activities to do and also a bunch of small rewards if we reach our goal for the day of learning new words, reading one chinese book and writing a few words like going for a picnic, extra story, baking with me, doing a science experiment etc… So tomorrow, we start operation anti-kentang >_< (Kentang means potato in Malay. Also the nickname given to those who are very westernized and is good in English but poor in their mother tongue)

Leave a Reply

