Bento Crazy

Now that I pack lunch for Calvin almost every day, I’ve been trying out new ideas to make cute, easy to eat, delicious and nutritious food for him. Ambitious much?

Well, I just can’t see crackers as legitimate grain substitutes and I prefer if he only has lunch meat/ hot dogs not more than once a week. And I don’t want him to get used to having desserts every meal i.e chocolate milk, gummies, etc. So in the extra time I have when he is in school, I’ve started researching on bento lunches since the Japanese pack such cute lunches that are not just sandwiches.  I’ve also been secretly hankering for hotdog octopus for many years.

So far, I’ve made him hot dog octopus, numerous rice balls, apple bunnies, a pikachu rice ball and today’s theme is Angry Bird. For once I’ve managed to take a picture after the hustle and bustle of the morning rush.  Could look better if I had some craft punches etc but I’m sure Calvin would enjoy it anyway :]

09022015 Lunch

Leave a Reply

