Indulging in Psychology

I’ve been spending a lot of time reading books that documents research on motivation. I’ve always been an intrinsically motivated child, but I never understood why or what factors contribute to it. In fact, when I look back, I wonder if I’ve ever complained about being in elementary school from 7:30am to 5pm. And on top of that, I later willingly sacrificed Saturdays and Sundays for extra work on English and Math in upper elementary. From what my mum said, it seems I did lament at times about the workload from the tuition,  but now when I think back, all I remember are neutral or positive. My work ethic seems to have been set since then too. I enjoy working hard and seeing results. And I never seem to have lost the joy of learning new things.

It would be wonderful if Calvin could also go through school enjoying learning while still working hard. There is no denying that good results can only come from diligence. Many people compare the different education systems and wonder why some Asian countries perform better at international standardized tests like PISA but when you objectively look at it, isn’t it really about how much time the children spend in school and on school work? I was horrified to see that the secondary school kids in China attend school for 12 hours a day but when I thought back on my own elementary days, I spent a big chunk of my time in school too. Many kids in Singapore attend tuition and after school lessons even if the school days are shorter. I think I did a fair amount of self study at the hostel though I also managed to have lots of reading time since there were no TVs or the internet or video games to distract me.

Well, this will be a maze that we will navigate through together so as far as I can, I’d like to learn more tricks on how to not get lost in the humdrum of pursuing academic excellence.

Leave a Reply

