A Kale Win

So I’ve read yonks ago that kids need to at least try something 7 times before they really know if they dislike or like that particular food. I do half-heartedly let little Cal try out some vegetables if I found a new way to cook them but never did it consistently. Well part of it is because he dislikes the taste of garlic, soy sauce and oyster sauce and he doesn’t like ranch dressing either. I haven’t quite found a kind of sauce or dressing that he likes on his veggies. The only exception is ketchup but you can’t jolly well put that on spinach…

Recently, I watched some video about kids who tried out kale for 30 days and many of them ended up liking it so I was inspired to try out kale again. And today, which is day 3, kale chips has been declared yummy! We tried kale chips on day 1 but I might have put too much salt on it. Day 2 was just stir fried with a bit of salt. He said it was okay but the chips were better. Well, the fact that he didn’t scrunch up his face like he usually does with green vegetables is a big win in itself 🙂 To be honest, I’ve taken a liking to cooked kale too. It’s quite heartening when my cooking experiments work out. Like how me and J loves baked eggplant even though I’d never touch the Chinese style stir-fried eggplant with a 10 foot pole.

Leave a Reply

