Mommy Guilt

So I finished reading the book by Sheryl Sandberg and one of the things that struck me is the mommy guilt. It’s funny how no matter what you do, a mother will never feel like she’s done ‘enough’ – did I spend enough time with my kids vs did I develop my career?

I’ve thought about my worry in giving up a corporate career to support my family at home. I’ve felt inadequate many times, mainly because of the perceived low social standing of stay at home parents. I mean after all, there’s no one to really evaluate your performance and say ‘okay, you’ve exceeded expectations’.

But when I thought about my time at work and right now, I can truly say that I am much happier and I feel more like myself and I’ve grown a lot more than the 5 years I spent working. In time, I may be ready to try it again but meanwhile, I am enjoying the meandering explorations I am allowed to do.  I am starting to really enjoy cooking, much more than I expected myself to. I really think this is a good place for us right now.  Our time is a limited resource and this is all an optimization problem where you think about where you focus that resource to maximize utility.  So I need to stop feeling guilty about the things I decided were not worth my time right now.

Leave a Reply

